Posted in Uncategorized

Stay On The Right Track

Today we begin to discuss direction.  I have prepared you to move forward with this discussion by asking you to examine your life, what it is you want; your hopes, dreams, desires.  What is it that matters to your most?

I have asked you to consider how you expect to live your life and compare it to how you are currently living that life.  Is it anywhere close to the life you desire?

Yes?  Wonderful.

You are part of a very small majority of society.  Those who live their dreams are few.  Each of us have had some failings and made compromises along the way.  Compromises can be good if they are made with the intention of achieving desires or living a happy lifestyle.

For those of you who have not compromised.  LIAR!

Life is often not everything it is cracked up to be?  Yeah, I get that.  We all have desires we have yet to accomplish.  We call it a bucket list and say things like:

“Someday I will do this”

“Maybe one day soon I will go there.”

“I can’t wait to try that.”

Let’s not forget; “If only this happened.”

The simple fact is these are just excuses for the fear we have of doing things out of the norm.

So I ask you again, are you living the life of your dreams?

NO!  Now you’re speaking some truth.

That is the answer for over 90% of us.  We put things off using seemingly justifiable excuses until we eventually forget about them and possibly live a contented life once again.  Sorry folks but that is no way to live.

Take the bull by the horns and lead it in the direction you want to go, and damned sure those pesky excuses and nay-sayer will get out of your way.  Oh, they are going to put up a fuss at first and tell you all kinds of negative things but if you are able to ignore them and keep on keeping on with your goals and dreams, then you will soon get past them and leave them behind if necessary.

Here again we hesitate and reconsider as more excuses pop-up.  “…but I have a family now and bills to pay.”  True.

“I’m in my 30’s (40’s or 50’s) now I couldn’t possibly go back to school now or do something new.” Really?  Are you sure?  If there is a will there is a way.  If you want something bad enough you will make it happen.

So do you want it bad enough?  Is it in line with your WHY?  If that dream is even remotely close to your WHY, then you should at the very least consider it.  If it is in line with your WHY, and you want it bad enough then go make it happen.

I am 43 years old and I am NOT living the life of my dreams.  It wasn’t always that way though, it took me a long time to get where I am now, and I am not satisfied yet.  Oh, I live a happy, contented life; a loving wife, a happy home, responsible grown up kids.  What have I got to complain about?  Nothing really, life isn’t that bad and even if I did complain who would listen?  Everyone has problems and so many of them are far worse than my measly sorrows.  Yet I can honestly say, “I am dissatisfied.”

Huh?  But you said, and I quote.  “I know who I am!  I know where I am going!  I know what I am doing to get there!”

All of those statements are correct, and I can emphatically state them (notice the exclamation marks) because I know what I want and yet at the same time I know my failings.  I have also decided that excuses be damned, nothing will stand in my way.  I will get what I want.  I am taking action and moving ever so steadily in a direction conducive with my WHY!

I have always wanted to help people, at one point I might have even seen it as a calling.  I had always helped my friends one-on-one whenever they needed me in my younger days.  Somewhere along the way I had simply abandoned that desire and became selfish because I wasn’t getting what I wanted.

“Hell, why not me?  I want things.  I want to have my dreams come true.”  This had become my M.O. for too many years.  I was lost, not knowing what I truly wanted…I just wanted…everything, but who doesn’t and why not me.  Damn it, I deserve it.

This attitude had gotten me nowhere and before long I was forced to make a change.  Something in me knew that my survival depended on my altering my course.  The more I worried about my wants, the worse my life became.  Clearly being selfish was not working for me.  My life was off course.

Now I am on track and headed in the right direction.  That steam engine is even picking up speed.  I will get there someday as long as I don’t derail.  But this train was slow to leave the platform.  As I have said the hardest part of this journey was choosing the destination.  Once I knew where I was going, the journey really took off from there.

Truth be told I have not really gotten anywhere yet and I hope this is a long train ride.  I am going somewhere.  I have planned my destination but I know not where this track is taking me just it’s general direction.  I am actually looking forward to all of the stops along the way.

“Know your WHY!”

Life’s a journey, not a destination but by choosing your destination early, it helps you stay on track.  But after each stop-over you need to check to make sure you are on the right track again.  If you constantly check your bearings to make sure you are going in the right direction it becomes a lot harder to get lost.

When you know your WHY and refer to it often when you make all of life’s difficult decisions, you truly cannot go wrong.  Oh, any decision might turn out to be the wrong course of action but you can correct that course by allowing adjustments toward your true north compass point.  I used the analogy of a track but you can get off at the next stop and head in the right direction.

This is the importance of finding your WHY.  It can always reaffirm your direction.  You will always be able to find your way out of the darkness by your devotion to that WHY.  You see, it truly is your justification, your reason to live.  It will help you focus on the destination ahead because you know where you are going.  You will find that choosing WHY is your compass.

 

*PRIDE IN PRACTICE*

 

You have one task this week, if you have not done so already.

  1. FIND YOUR WHY!    Calibrate it so you can keep it pointed to true north.
Leave a Reply

