Posted in Uncategorized

My Story…I am a Leader!

Life is what you make it.  I have always believed this, even when I was at my deepest, darkest depths of despair.  The problem is that when you are in that stage, it is hard to see this for what it is.  A guiding principle that can bring you out of those depths.  Live life to it’s fullest.

I have always been a leader.  It is what I wanted to be all of my life.  I had forgotten that though.  Life takes its toll and you compromise once, then again and this develops into a habit that leads you on a journey that is not yours.  You get lost in compromise.   I have always wanted to be a leader.  I have been a leader but the people I was leading have drifted away.  I had lost that part of myself.  I needed to get back that part of myself.

When I gave up fighting life and resisting enough to go with the flow taking whatever life throws at me.  This came after a desperate time in my life where I either made a change or I would lose all I had.  Life has a way of working itself out though and I woke up to the life I was living, if you could call it that.

I rediscovered myself and my dreams.  I always knew who I wanted to be.  I wanted to be a teacher, but one of life’s great compromises, I gave up on that dream when people started calling me a nerd, not to mention people even questioned my sexuality.  I began to do more masculine things, exuding my macho bravado.  You had to want to be a policeman, or fireman, perhaps a construction worker.  That is the job for a man.

There is also the entrepreneurial spirit that was crying for release from deep inside me.  I always had IDEAS, wants and dreams but had to give them up too because of the negativity and oppressive behaviours of others you hold in a place of trust.  Life has a way of working itself out though and when I rediscovered myself I also found my purpose…my WHY.

I began to read and learn about so many subjects all focused on that purposed.  The problem was this was not focused learning.  It was learning for the sake of learning.  Now that I have focused my education, I have a “definiteness of purpose” as Napoleon Hill put it.  This focus has been on my place in life.  My leadership journey as an entrepreneur.  I have also discovered a passion for helping others achieve their dreams.

My Life begins now.  I have planned to win and prepared to win, now I expect to win.

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more.  You are a leader.”                      –   John Quincy Adams

I am a leader.  I am ready to lead.  I have recieved more inspiration regarding my leadership.  This insight offered to me as a result of a leadership quiz I had taken:

Your Workshop Leader Type: TRANSFORMATIONAL CATALYST

Transformational Catalysts are natural born leaders…

Benefits of Your Leadership Style:

You are natural born leader.  You likely find it easy to lead and are fairly comfortable with public speaking AND you love to change lives by telling stories, teaching content, and creating connections in audiences of any size.

You care how people are feeling, and don’t like to leave anyone out.  You realize that what people know from the inside out is often more powerful than anything they could hear from anyone else.  Therefore, in addition to leading from stage you also desire to facilitate community connection and ultimately, transformation.

You have an innate awareness of the world’s struggles, and you deeply desire to be a part of the solution.  And you have the capacity to make great money in reciprocity with your contribution.

Your Growing Edge: As a natural leader, you may have experienced appreciation from others. And you may have also experienced their envy, jealousy or criticism.  You may have even dimmed your own light as a result.  But the truth is that you’re happiest when you’re sharing yourself with the world and touching as many lives as possible.

As someone who shines in the spotlight AND loves facilitating deep, meaningful connections in the room, you have a variety of talents and gifts.  Because you’re good at a lot of things, the challenge in being a transformational catalyst may be choosing WHAT transformation to focus on providing, and where to begin.

Our #1 Recommendation for how to best utilize your Workshop Leader Style:  Go for it!  It doesn’t matter where you start or what you do… it only matters that YOU PRIORITIZE GETTING STARTED. Begin leading and facilitating workshops if you haven’t already… the sooner the better.  People are longing for the deep connections and healing among community that can only be created in a structured workshop space.  You have the capacity to contribute to and inspire a lot of people.  And the truth is, some part of you won’t be fully satisfied if you aren’t showing up fully and giving the gifts that burn inside you.  And your heart, as well as your skills, are deeply needed in the world at this time.

If I wasn’t inspired to take action already then this has certainly been a catalyst for my future. Yesterday I shared a quote from Arthur Ashe…start where you are using what you have.  These are one of the guiding words I use to keep myself moving forward.  The above script has described what I am already working towards, it just reaffirms my commitment to this path.

I have already begun.  I am a leader.  I am an entrepreneur.  I know who I am!  I know where I am going!  I know what I am doing to get there!  This is my wish for others, to discover this pride, this passion, this power.  this is why I created DEN OF PRIDE.

Join me:  www.denofpride.wordpress.com

Tomorrow:  My Story…Education.

Leave a Reply

